top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

More countries ease travel restrictions

Inbound border restrictions eased in 31 countries

MANILA – The Department of Foreign Affairs said from 177 countries and territories across the Americas, Asia and the Pacific, Europe and Middle East/Africa 31 have already lifted the inbound border restrictions on Filipino travelers, subject to medical protocols on arriving passengers. Additional countries which opened their borders include Bahamas, Egypt, Ethiopia and United Arab Emirates.

Sixty-eight other countries and territories still bar Filipinos in their respective borders including Cuba, Haiti, Palau, Timor Leste, France and most countries in the Middle east and Africa.

DFA reported 78 countries and territories, though they still maintain inbound boarder closures, they extend entry exemptions to Filipinos who are citizens of the destination country and returning residents, OFWs with work visas and contracts, diplomatic or UN passport holders going to post or on official travel. The new update under this category is Macau SAR, with imposed medical protocols.

The latest developments bring a total of 138 countries now allowing Filipinos to return to the Philippines subject to flight availability and other special arrangements.

The Manila International Airport Authority (MIAA) announced the resumption of international operations in NAIA Terminal 3 from 12:01 A.M. on July 8m the DFA reiterates that travel restrictions can change sans prior public notice. All travelers are advised to always check ahead of travel dates with the airlines that will be used as well as the relevant Embassies and Consulates before departure or before booking a ticket. (Melo M. Acuña)

Overseas Filipinos being assisted by DFA and other government agencies on their return to the Philippines. (DFA Photo)

58 views0 comments
bottom of page