top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

Philippine government temporarily restricts travel to South Korea

Philippine government restricts Filipinos’ travel to South Korea

MANILA – Presidential Spokesman and Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Salvador S. Panelo said the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has approved the ban on the entry of travelers from the North Gyeongsang Province of South Korea into the Philippines immediately.

This was the government’s response to the high alert level declared by the South Korean government due to the upsurge in the COVID-19.

Secretary Panelo said with travelers from other parts of South Korea, the IATF will conduct a risk assessment of the situation within the next 48 hours to see whether it is necessary to expand the travel ban.

“In the meantime, strict protocols with respect to travelers entering the country from these areas in South Korea will continue to be observed,” he said.

At the same time, he said the IATF has authorize Filipinos to travel to South Korea “provided that they are permanent residents there, leaving for study, or are overseas Filipino workers there.” They will be made to sign a statement, signifying their knowledge and understanding of the risks involved before their travel.

This simply means any travel to South Korea will be temporarily suspended.

He emphasized the safety and security of Filipinos in and outside of the Philippines remain their primary concern. (Melo M. Acuña)

4 views0 comments


bottom of page