top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

Duterte warns characters in House leadership row

President Duterte tells Cayetano and Velasco to solve differences

MANILA – President Rodrigo Roa Duterte called on sitting House Speaker Alan Peter S. Cayetano and Marinduque Congressman Lord Allan Jay Velasco to settle their differences by themselves and think of the people’s welfare as the country still reels from the COVID-19 pandemic.

In a rare national television address on the controversies surrounding the House of Representatives’ leadership, President Duterte said the two opposing camps should spare the national leadership as people tend to remember the failures of the previous national leaders and not on the specific personalities.

Huwag sobrahan ang laro sa Congreso na yung budget malagay sa alanganin,” President Duterte said with ranking military and police generals behind him. Seated beside him were Defense Secretary Delfin N. Lorenzana and Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, Interior and Local Government Secretary Eduardo M. Año among others.

He explained with the people seated beside and behind him does not mean he is planning something. He, however, hastened to add, the opposing camps should resolve their differences because he may be forced to act as Chief Executive.

He said it pains him to learn there are people dying at different government hospitals because there not enough provisions for medicines and other basic requirements.

He said the two opposing lawmakers should solve the leadership issue by themselves otherwise he will be forced to solve the issue. While he will not issue timeline for the involved lawmakers at the House of Representatives, he said he doesn’t want any further delay.

Gusto ko ayusin if and when I see a delay, that it will result a derailment of government service, I will solve the problem myself,” President Duterte did not reveal his options should Messrs. Cayetano and Velasco fail to reach an agreement.

There are three co-equal branches in the Philippine government, the Executive, the Legislative and the Judiciary. (Melo M. Acuña)

54 views0 comments


bottom of page