top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

Malacanang heeds Albay's and Zamboanga City's call for ECQ extension

Albay and Zamboanga City, latest addition to ECQ areas until May 15

MANILA – President Rodrigo Duterte took note of the recommendations of the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) to include Albay Province and Zamboanga City among the list of local government units which will still be under lockdown until May 15.

Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea signed a memorandum dated Saturday, May 2.

It will be recalled Legazpi City Mayor Noel E. Rosal called on the national leadership during last week’s Wednesday Roundtable @ Lido to consider the extension of the Enhanced Community Quarantine until May 15 as he fears a surge in COVID-19 cases in the city and the province.

Albay Second District Rep. Jose Sarte Salceda, chair of the House of Representatives expressed concern the General Community Quarantine (GCQ) initially scheduled for May 1st would lead to more problems as the Legazpi City-based Bicol Regional Teaching and Training Hospital may not be able to cope with the stream of COVID-19 positive cases.

Albay and Zamboanga City were added to Mtro Manila, Central Luzon except Aurora Province, CALABARZON, Pangasinan, Benguet, Iloilo, Cebu, Bacolod City, and Davao City.

The Department of Health reported an increase of 262 new COVID-19 positive cases for a total of 9,485 cases, 1,315 recoveries with 101 new recoveries and the death toll increasing to 623 with 16 new deaths reported.

Of the 262 new cases as of 4:00 P.M. today, 122 or 47% were from the National Capital Region, Region VII or Central Visayas with 88 cases of 33% and other regions with 52 cases for a 20% share. (Melo M. Acuña)

Mt. Mayon, the 2,462-meter conical volcano at the heart of Albay Province. (Melo Acuna File Photo)

45 views0 comments


bottom of page