top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

MECQ in Metro Manila plus until May 14

President Duterte extends MECQ in NCR Plus

MANILA – Acting on the recommendations of the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID), President Rodrigo Duterte extended the Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) classification for the National Capital region (NCR), Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna and Cavite from May 1 to May 14,2021.

During his “Talk to the People” address Wednesday night, President Duterte said the City of Santiago in Isabela and Quirino Province in Region II, and Abra in the Cordillera Administrative Region will be placed under MECQ for the whole month of May 2021.

Incidentally, Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province in the Cordillera Administrative Region, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya in Region II; Batangas and Quezon in Region IV-A, Tacloban City in Region 8, Iligan City in Region X, Davao City in Region XI, Lanao del Sur in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao will be under General Community Quarantine from May 1-31, 2021.

All other areas will be placed under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) for the month of May. The new classification will also be subject to the appeals of the local government units. (Melo M. Acuña)

242 views0 comments


bottom of page