top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

Medal of Valor awardee named 55th AFP Chief of Staff

Medal of Valor awardee named AFP Chief of Staff

MANILA – President Rodrigo Duterte appointed Army chief Lt. General Cirilito Sobejana as the 55th Chief-of-Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines today.

In a statement, AFP Spokesperson Major General Edgard Arevalo said Lt. General Sobejana epitomizes the finest in Filipino soldiery.

“He earned the Medal of Valor (MOV) – the highest military award that can be bestowed to a soldier for conspicuous and singular act of gallantry above and beyond the call of duty,” the AFP statement said.

The AFP has welcomed General Sobejana’s appointment, as he is described both humble and unassuming, and remains highly respected even outside the Philippine Army given his record in every command he holds.

He comes from the Philippine Military Academy “Hinirang Class of 1987” the class with three Medal of Valor recipients and holds the honor of being the first AFP Chief of Staff in 72 years who was a Medal of Valor recipient.

Military records revealed there were three AFP Chiefs who received the Medal of Valor since the AFP’s foundation in December 21,1935. They were Major General Paulino Santos, the 2nd AFP CS from May 6,1936 to December 31,1938, Major General Mariano Castaneda, the 5th Chief of Staff from December 21,1948 to May 28,1951 and Lt. General Cirilito Sobejana, the 55th AFP Chief-of-Staff. (Melo M. Acuña)

Medal of Valor Awardee Lt. General Cirilito Sobejana (left) named the 55th AFP Chief of Staff. Seated beside him is Security expert Prof. Rommel Banlaoi during Tapatan sa Aristocrat. (File Photo/Melo M. Acuna)

61 views0 comments


bottom of page