top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

Three more Luzon provinces under GCQ

IATF identifies areas under GCQ

MANILA – Nueva Ecija, Batangas and Quezon in Luzon have been placed under General Community Quarantine beginning tomorrow, August 16 until August 31,2020 according to the decision of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (AITF-EID) reached yesterday.

Presidential Spokesperson Secretary Harry Roque said other areas now under GCQ are Iloilo City, Cebu City, Lapu-lapu City, Mandaue City, Talisay City and the towns of Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu Province in central Philippines.

The rest of the country are placed under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ), with some provinces, highly urbanized cities and independent component cities with strict enforcement of local action.

Incidentally, the National Task Force (NTF) and the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) have been directed to ensure that areas flagged for local action shall implement strict lockdown of areas according to the Zoning Containment Strategy, strict enforcement of minimum health standards and intensified tracing and quarantine of close contacts and isolation of confirmed cases.

President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to address the nation on Monday, August 17, on the community quarantine classification of the National Capital Region (NCR)) and the densely populated provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal. (Melo M. Acuña)

Presidential; Spokesperson Secretary Harry Roque. (File Photo/Melo M. Acuna)

90 views0 comments
bottom of page