top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

APCU/Chinese Embassy recognize Filipinos in Philippines-China Understanding

Ten Laureates cited for promoting Philippines – China understanding

MANILA – The Association for Philippines-China Understanding (APCU) and the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Philippines announced “The Laureates for Promoting Philippines-China Understanding (APPCU) for 2021.”

In a statement , APPCU said the awardees made significant efforts in promoting friendly ties and deeper mutual understanding using their respective platforms in Mass Media and Public Service, Trade and Commerce, and Arts, Culture, and the Sciences.

Launched in January this year, the members of the board and the committee behind APPCU began its search for well-deserving individuals.

“Prestige, nature, and extent of their works are largely the basis for the identification of their respective award category. There are three categories for the award, the Hall of Fame category, which acknowledges the prestige and stature of the individual, and the effort of work the individual has done over time as may be seen in the extent of reach, impact, and reception of the works buy communities and societies.

The second category is for Outstanding Contribution which recognizes other individuals who also made notable contributions in promoting and strengthening Philippines-China bilateral relations, friendship, cooperation and understanding.

The third category is for Major Contributions, which recognizes works of individuals whose works have a wide reach and impact on the lives of groups and communities of people at the grassroots level.

The APPCU Hall of Fame Awardees are Former First Lady Imelda Romualdez Marcos and former Special Envoy of the Philippines to China and Philippines Silkroad International Chamber of Commerce Chairman, Ambassador Francis Chua.

APPCU Awardees for Outstanding Contributions are Philippine Association for China Studies (PACS) President Dr. Rommel Banlaoi, Global Talk News Radio and “Ang Maestro” Host Herman “Ka Mentong” Laurel, Kaisa Para sa Kaunlaran, Inc. Founder Teresita Ang-See, and Confucius Institute at U.P. Diliman Director, Dr. Lourdes Tanhueco-Nepomuceno. Awardees for the Major Contributions category are Founding President of Peking University Overseas Students’ Alumni Association, Prof. Jaime FlorCruz, Physician, Lawyer and Professor at the University of San Agustin’s college of Liberal Arts in Iloilo, Dr. Mario Leonardo Emilio Aportadera, President and Chief of Adolfo “Ado” Paglinawan, and 51Talk Brand Ambassador John Nicolo Fernandez.

The awardees will receive trophies, plaques of recognition and certificate. Special prizes will be conferred to each of the awardees for the Outstanding Contributions and Major Contributions categories. The ten awardees will be formally recognized in fitting ceremonies on Friday, August 6,2021. (Melo M. Acuña)

Hall of Fame awardees Former First Lady and now Ilocos Norte Rep. Imelda Romualdez-Marcos (left) and Dr. Francis Chua, former Special Trade Envoy to China and now head of the International Chamber of Commerce-Philippines. (Photos/Melo M. Acuna)

12 views0 comments
bottom of page