top of page
  • Writer's pictureMelo Acuna

NCR, four other provinces under GCQ with restrictions

National Capital Region and environs placed under GCQ but…

MANILA – President Rodrigo Duterte placed the National Capital Region (NCR) and its four nearby provinces under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) last night upon the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID).

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said the order will take effect tomorrow and will be strictly followed until Monday, May 31st. The provinces under the classification are Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna and Cavite.

The announcement was made during President Duterte’s “Talk to the People’ last night. Despite the GCQ classification there will be “heightened restrictions.”

Other areas placed under GCQ are Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Abra, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Batangas, Quezon, Puerto Princesa, Iligan City, Davao City and Lanao del Sur.

President Duterte placed Santiago City in Isabela Province, Quirino, Ifugao and Zamboanga City under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ). The rest of the Philippines are now under General Community Quarantine.

Presidential Spokesperson Roque said despite the loosened restrictions, there are still prohibitions that will remain to contain the spread of the coronavirus disease.

Outdoor tourist sites, personal care services including salons, parlors and beauty clinics will be allowed at 30 percent capacity. Religious gatherings and necrological services will be allowed at 10% venue capacity.

President Duterte warned local government officials be held responsible if there be violations in the minimum health standards contained in widely-circulated guidelines. (Melo M. Acuña)

President Rodrigo Duterte (Screen grab from "Talk to the People" - May 12,2021/PCOO/RTVM/PTV4)

3 views0 comments


bottom of page